E911 Board Page

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The E911 Board is made up of representatives from each emergency response jurisdiction including departments that reside outside of the county but respond to areas within Boone County. This board is responsible for anything related to the 911 system other than personnel. The main topic that they work on is the financial side. This board is regulated by Iowa Code 34A.

They look at how the funds we receive from the 911 surcharge on your phone bill are best spent. Upgrades and equipment purchases to the communication center, radio and pager purchases for county emergency personnel and maintenance contracts to keep all of the communications running are a few of the expenses those funds are used for. This is also the board that recommends  how much the county and its citizens should pay for the E911 Surcharge that you pay every month. The fall of 2010, the citizens of Boone County approved an increase from 85 cents to $1.00. See sub-page named "Surcharge Increase".

Below is the current list of Board members.

 Police Chief Mick Bailey        Ogden
 Fire Chief CJ Maddux        Madrid
 Fire Chief Sean Whalen        Pilot Mound
 Fire Chief Dave Huffman        Boxholm
 Sheriff Gregg Elsberry        Boone County
 Councilman Steven Ray        Boone
 Board of Supervisors Chad Behn        Boone County
 EM Coordinator Lance Kooiker        Boone County