Where are you located?
A: 201 State Street Suite 100 Boone, Iowa 50036
What is your phone/fax number?
A: Phone: 515-433-0512
Fax: 515-433-0511 Our phone lines are open from 8:00am to 4:30pm.
How can I contact the Iowa Department of Transportation, Office of Vehicle Services?
A: Iowa Department of Transportation Office of Vehicle Services
P.O. Box 9204
Des Moines, IA 50306-9204
If I buy a car, where do I get the title transferred into my name?
A: If you live in Boone County, you can title and register your car at the Boone County Treasurer's Office, 201 State Street, Suite 100.
I have lost my validation sticker, where do I go to obtain a new one?
A: You can come to the Boone County Treasurer's Office, 201 State Street, Suite 100 to receive a new validation sticker. There is a $3.00 charge.
Where do I go to get a refund on my plates?
A: You can bring your plates and registration to the Boone County Treasurer's Office. If the claim is approved, a refund will be mailed to you within four to six weeks.
Where do I get additional forms if they are needed to complete the vehicle title process?
A: Additional forms can be acquired at the Boone County Treasurer's Office, 201 State Street, Suite 100, or www.iowatreasurers.org
What are my payment options?
A: Click here for payment options.
How do I change my mailing address?
A: If you have moved within or into Boone County, call 515-433-0512.
Where do I apply for personalized license plates?
A: You can pick up an application for personalized plates at the Boone County Treasurer's Office at 201 State Street, Suite 100B, and mail it to the Department of Transportation, Office of Vehicle Services, Records and Titles Section, P.O. Box 9204 Des Moines, IA 50306-9204
You can apply for personalized plates at the Department of Transportation, Office of Vehicle Services, Records and Titles Section, 6310 SE Convenience Blvd Ankeny, IA 50021.
Where do I go to get a personalized plate replaced, I have lost one of mine?
A: You can apply for duplicate plates and pay applicable fees by bringing in your current registration to the Boone County Treasurer's Office, 201 State Street, Suite 100. You will receive a letter from our office letting you know when your replacement plates have arrived.
I have lost one of my license plates, where do I go to get a replacement plate?
A: You can receive a replacement set of plates at the Boone County Treasurer's Office, 201 State Street, Suite 100. You will need to bring with you your remaining plate that is on your vehicle and pay $5.00.
If I put my vehicle in storage, do I have to buy the plates every year?
A: No, you can put the plates "in storage" at the Boone County Treasurer's Office, 201 State Street, Suite 100. This will eliminate you from paying a penalty when you decide to take the vehicle out of storage. However, in order to store the plates, they do need to be currently registered. The plates and the current registration need to be turned in to the Boone County Treasurer's Office so that the State Motor Vehicle System can be updated and the registration stamped "STORED". No refund will be issued if time is left on plate.
When I take my vehicle out of storage, do I get free plates to put back on the vehicle?
A: If you take the vehicle out of storage during the same registration year that you put the vehicle in storage, you will get a free set of plates. If the current year has expired, you will pay a full-year's fee in order to get your plates out of storage.
What does the name connector "and", "or" mean on the face of my vehicle title as it relates to selling my vehicle?
A: The name connector "and" means that both owners that are listed on the vehicle title will have to sign as sellers when the vehicle is sold. The name connector "or" means that only one of the owners that are listed on the face of the vehicle title will have to sign as seller when the vehicle is sold.
The name connector "and/or" means that both owners that are listed on the vehicle title will have to sign as sellers when the vehicle is sold.
How does the state determine the amount of my registration fees?
A: All passenger cars and 1993 and newer multipurpose vehicles fees are computed as follows:
$.40 per hundred pounds plus
MODEL YEAR OLD PERCENT OF LIST PRICE
12 and after 0.10
Weight 3,000, list price: $18,000
3,000 X $.40 = $ 12
$18,000 X 1% = $180
Annual Fee $192
When do I use a Damage Disclosure Statement?
A: A Damage Disclosure Statement is required to be completed for all motor vehicles that are being transferred except for those listed below:
1. motor trucks and truck tractors with a gross vehicle weight rating of 16,000 pounds or more
2. motor vehicles more than seven model years old
4. motorized bicycles
5. special mobile equipment
6. new motor vehicles with a true mileage of 1,000 miles or less
When can I renew my plates?
A: You have the month before, the month of, and up to the last business day of the month following your renewal month to renew without penalty.
REGISTRATION MONTH YOUR VEHICLE WILL BECOME DELINQUENT
January- March 1
March- May 1
April- June 1
May- July 1
June- August 1
July- September 1
August- October 1
September- November 1
October- December 1
November- January 1
December- February 1
What forms do I need to transfer a title?
1. Signed title from the seller (with damage disclosure if needed).
2. Application for certificate of title filled out and signed by buyer/ buyers.
3. Odometer reading if vehicle is 9 years old or newer.
What forms do I need to transfer a non-titled trailer?
1. Current registration signed by the seller (at the bottom of the registration).
2. Application for certificate of title filled out and signed by buyer/buyers.